oil and vinegar

100 days, 100 salads

roasted tomato salad

Last night, I attempted a recipe I found in a new nutrition book I got over Christmas. As is typical, though, I didn’t have time to finish the recipe and took a lot of shortcuts at the end. To be fair, the recipe was pretty complicated. It involved a combination of rice, quinoa, slow-roasted tomatoes (over 2 hours, this part I actually did), and then topping with green olives and nigella seeds (apparently, black cumin seeds; I didn’t have any). In the end, I roasted the tomatoes with the brown sugar, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper and they were pretty good! I thought they would be sweeter though, honestly (especially with the brown sugar and the caramelization). I didn’t taste the tomatoes before they went in the oven- they could have been sour to begin with. In any case, I put them on top of some quinoa with some peppercorn goat’s cheese (om nom nom) and some sunflower seeds. Not bad!

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “roasted tomato salad

  1. nigella seeds – finches love them !! expensive , too!

Leave a Reply

