oil and vinegar

100 days, 100 salads

Dean’s Curried Lentil Salad

Yay! A dedication post! This is one of the best lentil salads, ever. I had it at my buddy Dean’s party in the summer- he serves it as a dip- and I’ve made it a couple of times since! I have to admit, though, like I mentioned about me and recipes, that I’ve never done the recipe with the exact ingredients. We made it in NS over the holidays, and Fahim made it, so it was closer to the real thing, but I think still had some extra red onions in it. This time, I actually made the effort to go buy the ingredients I didn’t have, but the grocery store didn’t have green onions (seriously? seriously.) so I was forced to use red instead. The best thing, as the recipe says, is to let the salad sit in the dressing for a day. It’s SO much tastier. Also, the combo of spices isn’t to be messed with- not even I would do that ;).

Here the recipe, care of Dean’s ma:
Curried Lentil Salad

1 can of lentils – 540 ml. drained or 540 ml. cooked lentils
1 red pepper, finely chopped
2 or 3 green onions, chopped
½ cup dried currants

Dressing:
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 tbsp. red wine vinegar
½ tbsp. fresh lemon juice
½ tsp Dijon mustard
½ tsp curry powder
½ tsp cumin
¼ tsp cinnamon
pinch of ground clove
salt and pepper to taste
Add dressing early in the day for the flavours to meld.
On another note, today is going to be my ‘finish all the other salads’ day. I usually am cooking for my roomie and me (we have a sweet arrangement, he pays, I cook!), but since he’s away I’ve been making the same amount of food. Oh well, more planned-overs for me!
Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Dean’s Curried Lentil Salad

  1. Allison on said:

    Is this what you brought to the trivia party?? I’ve been thinking about that…

  2. It looks so good and I did not get any of it at home so will have to make it !!!
    papa

Leave a Reply

