oil and vinegar

100 days, 100 salads

chives… drool! (plus days 4 and 5)

I’m a couple of days behind on posting, due to my travel schedule. Currently, I’m on a 6-hour layover in the TO airport, which has flown by really! (Pun intended.) Luckily, I got put on a flight with Sophie and we had an hour or so to chat and have breakfast together before she caught her next flight! I’ve been still having salads, though, so I will post about them now and add photos later since my photo stream isn’t connecting for some reason.

First, though, I should tell you about the drool-worthy meal that Fahim and I shared the other night at Chives. He was flying out the next morning so we decided to take advantage of being in the city and stop by my bro’s restaurant. We shared the tastiest snow crab/lobster fish cakes to start (seriously, pure fish!), and then each had a fish dish as a main (can you tell that we’re happy to be by the sea?). I had the sesame-crusted swordfish special (seared like tuna! creamy and delish) while he had the pan-fried trout that came with a ridiculous (in a good way) bacon-cream-cabbage side. We both agreed that the most amazing part of the meal, though, was the dessert- bread pudding stuffed apple. That’s right, the apple was stuffed with bread pudding! It came with homemade butter toffee sauce and cinnamon ice cream. Oh. My. God.

It’s not salad, but there’s definitely fruit in it! 😉

Yesterday, I actually didn’t make my own salad, but I thought I would take the time to talk about my mother’s delectable roasted veggies. Let’s call it a warm salad. She roughly chops up whatever root veggies she has- last night it was new potatoes, blue potatoes, and carrots, plus some aromatic veggies like mushrooms and shallots, tosses them with olive oil, salt and pepper, and then throws them in the oven for about an hour. The result is slightly caramelized veggies that go perfectly with a bit of fish (we had lake trout).

Today, during my extended stay at YYZ, I discovered a new (to me) place called the Camden Food Market that had a salad bar. I freakin’ love salad bars! Honestly, the salad bar at Mount A. was my favourite part of eating at Meal Hall. I made myself a super-protein salad that had mixed greens, a boiled egg, tomato-feta salad (although the feta tasted like tofu… confusing), the crispiest cucumbers you’ve ever eaten, chopped walnuts, sunflower seeds, grated parmesan cheese, and balsamic vinaigrette to top things off.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

